Application Timeline: Deadline – 9 July 2020 (Annual)

Scholarship Value: Full Scholarship (All expenses covered)

Starting Date: Jan/Feb 2021, July to Oct 2021

Number of Scholarships : Not Specified

Scholarship Duration: Depends on the degree programme (1-2 years)

Location: Various locations: South Africa, Sri Lanka, South Pacific, Namibia, Papua New Guinea

Students from Commonwealth countries who wish to undertake 2 years Masters degree programmes in a low- or middle-income country, other than their own home country, can apply for the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships (QECS). Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships provide a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, to broaden horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to shared challenges – both in their home countries and those that host them.

Host Universities

  • IBMBB, University of Colombo
  • University of Sri Jayewardenepura
  • The University of the South Pacific
  • Fiji National University
  • University of Johannesburg
  • Rhodes University
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • University of Venda
  • North-West University
  • Tshwane University of Technology
  • University of Pretoria
  • Papua New Guinea University of Technology
  • University of Namibia

Target Group

Citizens and individuals who hold a refugee status in Commonwealth countries.

Conditions, Eligibility, Requirements and Benefits

  • The scholarship provides for fully-funded tuition fees and a stipend for living expenses, for the duration of the award. The scholarship also covers return economy flights to and from the host country, an arrival allowance, and research support grant. The research grant will only be provided on request, and subject to approval.
  • Eligible applicants are citizens (or those who hold refugee status) in Commonwealth countries, and they can only apply for 2 years Masters degrees offered at participating universities in eligible low- to middle-income Commonwealth countries. They have to be applying to study in a low- to middle income Commonwealth country other than their own country.
  • For students who are applying for Cycle 2, 2020, for studies commencing January/February 2021, the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships are only available for eligible Masters degree programmes offered at participating universities in the following countries and regions: Sri Lanka, South Pacific, South Africa, Papua New Guinea and Namibia.
  • There is no upper age limit to be eligible for a QECS Award. Applicants must have already completed their Bachelors degree and have graduated with an equivalent of a 2:1. QECS awards are only for new students and cannot be used to fund a course that has already been started.

How to apply?

  • Applicants do not need to be accepted into a course before they apply for the QECS; but they are encouraged to apply for their chosen course of study before or at the same time as applying for a QECS award. You will need to submit an application for admission to your chosen university course directly to the university in addition to completing a QECS application. You will have to visit your chosen universities’ websites for admissions and application deadlines. The scholarship application deadline for Cycle 2 2020 for studies commencing January/February 2021, is 9 July 2020.
  • For more information on the application process, please visit the following official website:

Please do not forget to like our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn pages. Good luck.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider turning off the ad blocker. Ads are our source of revenue. Thank you.